Our children…Our Greatest Joys

We have been blessed by God with three children, ages 25, 16 and 14, and are so thankful for the joy they’ve brought into our lives.  We really couldn’t imagine life without them.

I had my oldest when I was 18 and was a single parent for 6 years.  His father wasn’t involved in his life, but I was determined to raise my son to the best of my ability.  My parents and entire family provided a great deal of support, and I am forever grateful for their love and assistance.

My husband and I met in June of 1994 and married the following June.  We were overjoyed at the birth of our only daughter 2 years later and younger son 20 months after her!  My goal was to have all our children by the age of 30.  I’m not sure why I thought that was a good idea.  I suppose so I’d still be young enough to get on the floor to play with them.  🙂  I was 29 when our last was born.

Our two boys weighed over 9 pounds and our daughter was a few ounces shy of 8 pounds…big babies, but so precious!  I love the Scripture in Psalm 139:13-17 that says:

“For You formed my inward parts;
You covered me in my mother’s womb.

I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
Marvelous are Your works,
And that my soul knows very well.

My frame was not hidden from You,
When I was made in secret,
And skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth.
Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed.
And in Your book they all were written,
The days fashioned for me,
When as yet there were none of them.

How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God!

How great is the sum of them!”

…Every life is such a priceless gift, a tiny slice of heaven.

Yes, raising children is a parent’s greatest and most challenging endeavor.  There are seasons where you may question your entire repertoire of parenting wisdom.  There have been many days that I asked, “Where can I go to turn in my Mommy badge?”  So many questions we don’t have the answer to.  So many concerns and worries we bear.  Parenting is so complex because each child is so unique with their own set of challenges.

My greatest piece of parenting advice is to pray and “Cast all your cares upon Him, for He cares for you.” (I Peter 5:7)

I often remind God that He made these treasures we are trying to raise.  Please help!  Send an owner’s manual or something, God.  I’ve found the truest manual to be the Word of God.  It is there we find the foundation for living.  When we model before our children how they should live, we are promised in Proverbs 22:6:

“Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.”

God’s Word is truth, and that’s what we hang our faith on daily.

Then, there are times in our lives that we are so proud of our children, we could burst!  So proud of their choices and their character taking shape.  These seasons make it all worth it!

Each of our children has their own distinct personality, as I’m sure yours do, as well.  Our oldest is very laid back and quiet, although can be otherwise in his vocation.  Our daughter has a very bold personality (like her dad) and likes noise.  Our younger son is like his brother, easy going and doesn’t mind hanging back and observing the situation before becoming involved in it.

All are our most valued assets, worthy of a lifetime of investment.

Leave a comment

Filed under Parenting

Leave a Reply

