Vasovagal and me …

This morning, I went to the dermatologist to have a mole under my eye removed, and it wound up being a little more eventful than anticipated.  *Sigh*  Every medical procedure I’ve ever had has been more “eventful” than I bargained for, but I digress…

The nurse injected the area under my eye with a numbing agent, like lidocaine, and a few minutes later, the physician’s assistant performed the necessary procedure.  I thought I was fine.  I didn’t feel any pain, and life was good… So, I thought!

A few moments later, my head began getting fuzzy, my ears were ringing and the room was turning black.  And, I wasn’t okay.  The nurse had me lie flat and took my blood pressure a few minutes later.  It was pretty low.  She brought in another nurse, who quickly got me a cup of water and some crackers.  They were both very kind and patient with me and my crazy reaction, and we enjoyed pleasant conversation for a short while during my recovery.  Slowly, I began to feel better and my blood pressure returned to somewhat normal.  I was finally able to get myself together and leave.

Vasovagal response is a fainting episode, often times as a result of anesthesia, pain, perceived major stress, etc.  I had never heard of this until I had neck surgery in 2012, and experienced it firsthand.  They decided a great location for the i.v. was the back of my hand.  Who thought this was a great place??  I don’t know, but it is painful.  Anyway, I was still in pre-op and my husband was talking away when I felt the room growing very black and my ears were ringing.  I couldn’t respond to my husband and I remember wishing he’d stop talking because I couldn’t answer him!  Haha! 🙂  I recovered and then went into surgery…

I just want to know why it is our bodies do things on their own volition?!  It reminds me of my dental file that has a big label on it:  “Gagger”!  What a charmer!  I can’t help it!  It is yet another annoying reflex my body displays.  I often say that as we age, it’s as if our body betrays us!  Can’t we all just play nice and get along?

I like to think of myself as pretty resilient and durable.  I am a mother of three, after all.  I am Wonder Woman.  I can survive the toughest of trials.  But, in recent years, my responses are beyond my control…and I don’t like it!  🙂

It is comforting to know that God is in control, even when I am not.  I’m glad to know that in times of great distress, God is the Rock that I cling to.

“God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.”  ~  Psalm 46:1

I can rest in the knowledge that no matter the circumstances I find myself in, God cares for me and protects me wherever I go.

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Miscellaneous

4 responses to “Vasovagal and me …

  1. Well, that adds just a little stress to an already stressful medical procedure! Glad it is over and you are ok! You are right, God is in control. That is such a comfort!

  2. Yes, it was a little more (okay, a lot more!) than I bargained for! It made me very thankful for the attentive and caring nurses who assisted me. Truly, God was with me! Thanks for your kind words. 🙂

  3. Karen

    You are in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

