Homeschooling … Mom’s Night Out

Tonight I attended a “Mom’s Night Out” at a local Italian deli with a group of homeschooling moms from our network of churches.  I must admit I was a little apprehensive about going since it was my first time and I knew no one!  How is it that when we’re young, we can just walk up to other kids, introduce ourselves and become instant best friends?  Haha!  I can be fairly outgoing, but it’s the initial awkwardness that can be challenging.

When I walked in, I spotted three ladies sitting at a group of tables that had pushed together to make a long row, so I inquired if they were from our group.  Relief overwhelmed me when they were, so I quickly introduced myself.  They all rattled off their names and, honestly, I recall only one.  Two more ladies arrived after me, and I do remember one mom’s name, only because it also belongs to my younger sister.  🙂  They were all very welcoming, which quickly put me at ease.  I’ve been around the homeschooling block long enough to know that cliques can easily form within homeschooling groups, and they can be nearly impossible to penetrate, sadly.  This was not the case at all tonight, thankfully.

While I didn’t retain everyone’s name nor exchange numbers with the other moms, one mom did direct me to their Facebook page.  Ironically, the mom, who initially invited me via text last night wound up not being there as she was ill.  She was kind enough, however, to let her friend (who was present) know to expect me.  🙂  Very nice.

We all seemed to pair off, two by twos, in conversation over dinner.  So, I didn’t get a chance to speak with everyone in depth, but I’m sure there will be ample opportunity next time.

In what seems like a former life, I used to coordinate “Mom’s Night Out” events for our church preschool group.  (I had nearly forgotten about that time in my life…just 14 years ago!)  🙂  But, our times of fellowship (without our precious babies) were evenings we always looked forward to and were a great encouragement!

It’s so vital for moms (with kids of any age group) to get out of the house and find commonality with those who are walking the same path of life.

Tonight, a mom was sharing some challenges she’s encountering during her very first year of homeschooling, and I was able to share some ideas, and hopefully solutions, that have worked for us.  That’s one of the many benefits of linking together with others.  We really do have so much to learn from one another.  We are each other’s greatest resources.  Life is a great teacher.  Experience yields tremendous treasure.  Why not tap into another’s wealth of knowledge?

We, homeschoolers, can be a real independent bunch.  But, I challenge you to break out of your comfort zone and find a co-op, support group, umbrella group, etc.  And, if you can’t locate one, start one in your area!  You’ll be glad you did!  🙂

{Side bar: All throughout the evening, I was smiling (or was I?), but my entire left cheek is still partially numb from the procedure I had done this morning.  I really couldn’t tell if I was truly smiling or maybe I was only smiling on the inside and it wasn’t registered on my face! Botox-like symptoms!… Who knows?   The other ladies could have gone home wondering why I never smiled!  Haha!  No worries, I’m sure I left my impression…After all, I was the only mom present sporting a circle band-aid under her left eye!}  🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Homeschooling

2 responses to “Homeschooling … Mom’s Night Out

  1. I’m so glad you had a wonderful time! Mom’s Nights Out are the best!

Leave a Reply

