Actinic Keratoses

Well, I learned a new medical term today…one that I could have spent the remainder of my life not knowing.  I had a mole removed from under my left eye last week, and the lab results came back today that there are pre-cancerous cells.  The nurse explained that I need to return for a procedure where they spray the area with liquid nitrogen to freeze the bad cells. (which will burn)  Oh, joy!  Because last Monday’s procedure and subsequent nearly passing out wasn’t enough!   😉

She wanted to know if I’d like to come in next week!  I asked if it was okay to wait a couple of weeks to give my open wound time to heal a little, which she said was fine, thankfully!  What a week!

Let me begin by saying, I have a very weak stomach!  I just can’t stand the sight of “unsightly” things!  Can’t help it.  So, the first few days after the procedure, my dear husband helped change the band-aid so I wouldn’t have to look at the area.  This made such a difference for me!  But, when I did look, I couldn’t help but think that perhaps the dermatologist was a little too “happy” with the scalpel.  The surrounding area was still swollen, so it looked worse than it actually was.  I’m finally at the place where I think, given sufficient time, I will be able to mask the area with a quality concealer and foundation.  But, that will have to wait until this liquid nitrogen procedure does its thing.

From the description I read online about it, I think I may be staying indoors for a couple of weeks afterward…Good thing the kids have their dental appointments next week and I have to take my dad to get his echocardiogram the following week.  And, I’d really hate to go on my birthday!  Hopefully, my dad’s routine lab appointments revert back to the monthly schedule to give me a little breather.

When the mom is out of commission, it is never a good thing!  And, in this case, when the mom, wife and daughter… I hurt my elbow yesterday and had it wrapped in an ace bandage all day.  My husband bought some ginger root, mashed it with a hammer and wrapped it inside the ace bandage.  I must admit that I was skeptical of this Chinese medicine, but it really helped a lot!  I’m a believer now!  haha  The prayer and Advil also helped a great deal! …

I prefaced the story with the “why” I was out of commission, but the story to illustrate my point of the challenges when mom is down is:

I loaded the dishwasher with my left hand, which was very interesting since I’m right handed!  Then, asked my darling husband to load the rest, including his dinner plate.  He loaded it, added the detergent pod, and shut the dishwasher.  End of story.

I returned to the kitchen later to find that he never hit the “Start” button!  🙂  I love my husband!  Ya gotta give him an A for Effort!

…While today’s lab results were totally unexpected, God overshadowed me with tremendous peace.   The thing that I love about God is that He is in total control of all things.  I have placed my faith and life in His strong and loving hands, and He is more than able to take care of me.  I’m often reminded of the passage that says:

 “Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are?”  ~ Matthew 6:26 

I am believing for total and complete healing in Jesus’ Name, the Name that is above every other name!

Who hath believed our report? and to whom is the arm of the Lord revealed?

For he shall grow up before him as a tender plant, and as a root out of a dry ground: he hath no form nor comeliness; and when we shall see him, there is no beauty that we should desire him.

He is despised and rejected of men; a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief: and we hid as it were our faces from him; he was despised, and we esteemed him not.

Surely he hath borne our griefs, and carried our sorrows: yet we did esteem him stricken, smitten of God, and afflicted.

But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.”  ~ Isaiah 53:1-5

Leave a comment

Filed under Health Stuff

Leave a Reply

