Time – Our Most Precious Commodity

400

What is time?  It is the measurement of our days, isn’t it?  When we’re young, we think we have an endless supply, and the older we get, the more we realize we need to be more deliberate with our usage.

“So teach us to number our days,
that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom.” ~ Psalm 90:12

We spend our free time in various ways – playing sports, watching t.v., talking on the phone, reading, surfing the web, crafts, etc.  One thing is certain: We all operate with a finite amount of time.  Therefore, we must choose wisely the extra activities we fill our days with.

For me, watching t.v. is a total time waster.  Others may disagree, but I can always find more entertaining and constructive things to do.  It’s a great thing when you’re sick and need a diversion, though.  Yes, there are uplifting and educational programs on.  Just my personal opinion.

I’m all about being productive and having something to show for my time.  If I spend hours on end watching mind numbing t.v. shows, what do I have to show for it?  However, if I spend hours creating a quilt, for instance, what is the result?  A piece of me to hand down to my children = legacy.  And if I spend hours reading a good book, what have I gained?  I’ve further expanded my knowledge and vocabulary in the process and engaged my mind in a stimulating exercise.

As I mentioned in my What is Money? recent blog:

“You can make more money, but no matter how hard you try, you cannot create more time.”

Time is an irretrievable resource.  Once it is evaporated, it is gone forever.

It’s all about living with purpose.  It’s about asking yourself the questions, “What do I want to accomplish this month, this year, in my lifetime?”  Goal setting is an important component of living a life with purpose.

“If we fail to plan, we plan to fail.” ~ Benjamin Franklin

Simplify is my word for 2014.  I’m throwing off every distraction and pursuing my goals.

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us. We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus, the champion who initiates and perfects our faith.”- Hebrews 12:1-2

Sometimes those weights that slow us down are not necessarily sin, but perhaps they are not producing anything of value in your life.  There are many good things we can do with our time, but we must evaluate whether the timing is right, if they are hindrances rather than benefits, and if there is lasting value in our choice.

Just as our vehicles require maintenance and evaluation periodically, so do our lives.  An assessment of how we spend our precious time is necessary in order to live your life with purpose.

What is slowing you down?  What is distracting you?  I don’t watch football, but I’ve endured enough games with my husband to know the classic scene:  Picture the running back sprinting down the field, running through opposition at every turn, and, despite all odds, makes the winning touchdown!  Sometimes that’s what our lives feel like, don’t they?  We’re hit with so many issues and situations, and somehow we keep going.  We can only do so if we keep our sights on the goal, though.  What’s your goal?  What are you going to do to make that happen?

Time for a fresh start!  New beginnings.  New mindset to keep focused on what’s really important.  Because at the end of the day, we’re all given a set amount of time.  What will you do with this precious gift?

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Christian Living, Miscellaneous

2 responses to “Time – Our Most Precious Commodity

  1. Agreed…I’ve been pondering similar thoughts on my new blog.

Leave a Reply

