15 Tips To Declutter

038

I always say that if the house is clean, it means no one is coming over.  And if the house is messy, we’re definitely having company!  🙂  Haha!

How do we avoid the panic stricken frenzy when friends or family call to say they’re on their way?  My personal favorite is when a neighbor shows up at the front door and the house is a disaster.  Thankfully, that doesn’t happen too often.

Here are some ideas to get you motivated toward decluttering:

  1. Put on your favorite music & set the timer for 15-30 minutes (or however long you like) to tackle a problem area.  Somehow knowing you have parameters to work within make it more mentally tolerable.
  2. Select a room or area to tackle each week and focus on making it a peaceful, pleasant space.
  3. Invite friends over for dinner & clean like crazy.
  4. Make a list of tasks to be done as you go through each problem room/area.  Note large items to be donated or sold.
  5. Get a kitchen trash bag and fill it with donations for your favorite charity as you go through the house.  Sort dresser drawers, kitchen cabinets, books, DVD’s, etc.  Whatever is not necessary, useful and loved…needs to go.
  6. Ask yourself, “What if I no longer owned this?  Would I miss it?  What would be a better use of this space to make it more functional?”
  7. Challenge yourself to view your home as an outsider, critiquing your setup.
  8. Do you have duplicates?  Do you really need five staplers and four pizza rollers?
  9. Establish a set place for bills and important papers to avoid archive avalanches on the dining room table or counter.
  10. If you must save magazines, corral them in nifty holders.  If you want to be frugal, cut out a cereal box & cover with decorative contact paper to create your own magazine holder.  🙂
  11. Baskets are a great way to keep like things together.
  12. Make up a bag to give to a friend who may need the “extras” you have.
  13. Grab another kitchen trash bag & go from room to room, collecting all garbage, snagging fast food cups or snack wrappers that may not have made it to the trash can yet, etc.  Somehow removing the first layer, gives motivation to address other cleaning/organizing issues.
  14. If you are completely overwhelmed, enlist the help of a friend or family member.  Moral support goes a long way.
  15. Start.  Start somewhere.  Even if it’s a kitchen junk drawer.  One success begets another.  Before you know it, you are on your way to accomplishing your goal of a clean house!

~ Happy organizing!

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under Organizing

6 responses to “15 Tips To Declutter

  1. Number 3 is my favorite!! When I am REALLY struggling to get caught up, I just invite friends over for dinner. Instantly, I am motivated and get it done! Just recently, my children have started hosting “homeschool parties” on Fridays. That helps too! 🙂
    Great Post!

  2. Karen

    Number one is what works best for me, although I usually continue to clean after the timer has gone off, but I tell myself I am cleaning by choice.

  3. sarahlearichards

    One of my friends always shows up when I look a fright. As for my house… Anyway, that friend has a cleaning schedule that she sticks to rigidly (and she just had her sixth C-section!), so I made myself a cleaning schedule, which I’ve found helps a lot.
    I keep all the junk mail, expired coupons (which seem to expire earlier all the time, so you can’t hold onto them and use them when the items are on sale), etc., tossed out. There are no catch-all drawers in my house.
    I don’t buy any more bath towels, plates, etc., than I need.
    I regift stuff I don’t want every year to my husband’s family’s Dirty Santa party. I went through a candle collecting phase years ago and they’ve always been well-received.
    Baskets are wonderful, and so are decorative boxes with lids (Target has really nice ones). I keep all my junky crafting paraphernalia in those.

    • Sounds like you’re pretty organized! I think that’s one of the big keys of keeping things tidy — not buying more than what we truly need so it doesn’t get out of hand. All very good ideas! Have a blessed day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

