Target Haul & More Frugal Thoughts

062

I popped into Target yesterday afternoon for a few groceries and noticed they had a good bit of items marked down on clearance.  Those nifty little red tags always vie for my attention!  Sometimes they are good deals, sometimes fair and sometimes a definite pass.

The large boxes of Cheerios were not on clearance, but on sale for $2.50 each, which is pretty good.  Three seemed like a good number to me yesterday for some strange reason.  I love Cheerios.  It’s a strange addiction, but fairly harmless, nonetheless.

The clearance price on the Palmolive (set of 2) was $2.48, which makes them $1.24 each!  They had three on the shelf, so I bought all of them.  I felt like a hoarder, but it is an item we use daily.  I just won’t need dish soap until Thanksgiving maybe, but it’s all good.  🙂

Target also had a bunch of laundry detergent on clearance.  If I were in the market for some, I would have picked that up as well.  We make our own laundry detergent primarily.  Toward the end of last year, I broke down and bought a large container of Tide pods, which I love.  We are still working on that, amazingly enough.  I also do my dad’s laundry, so that is doing pretty well.

If I had coupons to stack with those sale items, that would have been even better.  I wanted to share these deals with you to let you know to keep an eye out for those nifty red clearance tags if you shop at Target.  As seasons begin to change, they generally mark more things down, I’ve noticed.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………..

And now a Few Frugal Thoughts …

Just because an item sports a nifty red clearance tag, does not mean it is a good price or that it is imperative that I take it home with me.  You have to know your prices.  And we must ask ourselves whether we really need the item or  not.  I’m finding myself becoming increasingly more selective when making purchases.  It’s not so much because of the price always, but I have this inner debate whether or not there is a purpose to my spending.  Sometimes I think we buy on impulse, out of habit or because of a perceived future need.  ‘Well, maybe one day we may need that item.’  Meanwhile, it collects dust and consumes mental space.

And if you watch t.v., be aware of the effect that commercials may have on you.  I don’t watch t.v., but  my 14 year old son finds himself repeating commercial jingles all the time.  It worked!  The advertising company succeeded in brainwashing my son that he needs the new Swiffer or car insurance or whatever it is!  Say no to these subliminal messages whose only goal is to take your money to line their pockets.  No thanks!

I got a few things from the dollar store yesterday: a gift bag, spray bottle (for my homemade Pledge spray), two toothbrushes and some bobby pins for my daughter.  I tried to find other things to buy, which is silly, isn’t it?  I guess I say that because I was looking for “deals”, but that’s all I found of interest (or need).

I have mixed feelings about the dollar store & here’s why:

  1. It’s a great place to find plastic bins for organizing.
  2. Much of their merchandise hails from China, thus I would not purchase food or candy.  (Remember the toothpaste & dog food scandal?)  And the candy is likely stale even if it’s not imported.  I’ll pass.
  3. The quality isn’t there for most items.  I’d rather spend a little more for something that will last in general.
  4. It is good for one use items.  Because that’s probably as long as they will last anyway.
  5. I can usually find items on clearance for equal or lower prices for better quality and name brand.
  6. Their prices are not always the cheapest, even if I purchased similar items at a regular store at full price.  They sell, for instance, trash bags in small quantities; but if you did the math, it wouldn’t wind up being a good deal when compared to a national or store brand for a large quantity.  Again, you have to know your prices.  (And, I have a pet peeve about garbage bags tearing and strewing coffee grounds all over the kitchen floor…)  🙂

In Summary:

When I travel to an economically depressed area of town, I always notice their gas prices are vastly inflated compared to my local gas station.  This isn’t limited to just one part of town.  There are other economically depressed parts and it’s the exact same scenario repeated.  Why do you think this is?

Isn’t it sad that proprietors prey on the ignorance of their customers?  Yes.  Such is life, however sad.  It’s the same way with the dollar store or many other venues.  You have to know your prices!  It’s that way with car insurance.  I shared this in a previous frugal post (“Budget $aving$” on 2/2/14), but when we switched car insurance companies last fall, we wound up saving $1,500.  I knew we were overpaying!  Insurance is definitely a budget area that necessitates annual review for optimum savings.  Prices fluctuate all the time.  Companies will charge what their consumers are willing to pay!  That’s the bottom line.

Be an informed consumer and you will save $$ every time!

 

2 Comments

Filed under frugal living

2 responses to “Target Haul & More Frugal Thoughts

  1. Valerie

    VERY good point about tv and commercials! I grew up wanting what was popular at the time and guess what – we had cable tv so I wanted what advertisers wanted me to want. 🙄 My family has basic channels (not cable) but the only thing the kids watch is PBS and they only promote things like juice and baby food! lol We watch a fair amount on our screens but it’s almost always from a tape or dvd.
    Great post! And thanks for popping by my blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

