When God Says Wait

039

Do you have an unanswered prayer?  Is there a situation or issue on your heart that if you had the power to change within yourself, it would have been done yesterday?  Is there an ache in your soul for a reply from heaven?

I have prayed long and hard concerning several situations and the answer seems to be “wait”, not “never”, but “wait on my timing”.  Sometimes the most difficult thing to do is wait.

Allow me to illustrate by using a mundane household task such as washing dishes.  The other day I was attempting to quickly clean up the kitchen and came across a baking dish that clearly would require some soaking time.  Time.  I didn’t really want to wait, but was reminded of the power of time.  I let the baking dish soak in hot, sudsy water and went about wiping down the counters and stove.   When I returned to the baking dish, it came clean very easily; whereas, had I attempted to deal with it immediately, it would have been a real struggle.  The Lord whispered to me, “See, if you just wait, good things will happen.”  Oh, how my soul wrestles with the word wait!

We live in an instant culture, don’t we?  A microwave, “I want it now” culture.  Sometimes we try to force the issue in our own strength, and that’s usually when things go awry.  Experience speaking here.  Our flesh does not like to submit to God’s timing, especially when it’s an issue close to the heart.

We tend to operate in the here and the now; however, this is where faith enters the scene.

 “Wait on the Lord: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the Lord.” ~ Psalm 27:14

If you are in a holding pattern today, I just want to encourage you to offer your heart to the Lord in prayer once more and fully surrender your will to His.  Ultimately, God knows what is best for us. Even when our faith is tested, our assurance is:

“And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.” ~ Romans 8:2

When our spirits are restless, we must be reminded to:

“Be still, and know that I am God.”  ~ Psalm 46:10a

During times of waiting, it is vital to focus on God and praise Him in advance for His will for our lives and the answer to our heartfelt prayers, whatever the reply from heaven may be.

“Rejoice evermore.

 Pray without ceasing.

In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” ~ I Thessalonians 5:16-18

8 Comments

Filed under Christian Living

8 responses to “When God Says Wait

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I am currently in a holding pattern and it’s not a fun or easy place to be. But knowing it’s God’s will is what makes the wait worthwhile for there is no better place to be than in the center of His will for our lives.

  2. Ha! My dyslexia read your name as English Horse, not English Rose. The power of the mixed up brain!! :)) Love what you’ve written and what you’re doing here.

  3. Valerie

    Thank you so much for sharing this wisdom. Those verses are just what I need to hear right now, as YES I am waiting at the moment. It is confusing to live in our instant-age and yet be waiting, isn’t it? Such a good point. xo

    • Valerie, you’re very welcome. Thanks for stopping by & I’m glad you were encouraged. Yes, waiting is one of most difficult things, but I’m confident it’s during those seasons our character is further molded into His. Blessings, my friend!

Leave a Reply

