You Are Precious in His Sight

352

The worth of any object is determined by the price someone is willing to pay for it, right?  God sent His one and only Son to die on a Cross to purchase our salvation, so what does that say about us?  First of all, it shows the extravagant love of the Father toward His children.  Secondly, it displays the value God places on each one of us.

There are no favorite children with God.  So, let’s get that thinking out of the way.  God is no respecter of persons.  What He does for one; He will do for another.  He cannot change.  It’s not in His character.

The millionaire, the actor, the politician, the preacher, you and me … He loves us all just the same!  It is an even playing field at the foot of the Cross.  It is there that we all will bow one day.

So, if you struggle with self worth or feelings of inadequacy, I urge you to picture yourself at the foot of the Cross.  It is there because of the blood Jesus shed for us, that we are made complete.  All of our failures and sins are washed by His blood.  And in our weakness, He is made strong.

Your life has immense value because it is the object of God’s affection.

“Long ago the Lord said to Israel:
‘I have loved you, my people, with an everlasting love.
    With unfailing love I have drawn you to myself.'”  ~  Jeremiah 31:3

Genesis 1:27 says that we are made in God’s image.  He made us to live in right relationship with Him, and we can only function in our proper role if we see ourselves as God sees us.  If we have made Jesus the Lord of our lives, we are a new creation.  II Corinthians 5:17 says, “Old things are passed away and behold, all things become new.”  We are then in a position to commune with God and He with us.

“For the Lord is good.
    His unfailing love continues forever,
    and his faithfulness continues to each generation.” ~ Psalm 100:5

I challenge you to see yourself as God sees you … “A holy nation, a royal priesthood, God’s very own possession.”  – I Peter 2:9  You are loved with an everlasting love by your Creator!  Created to do awesome things for God’s glory!  Yes, you are indeed precious in His sight.

5 Comments

Filed under Christian Living

5 responses to “You Are Precious in His Sight

  1. Great post!! I definitely have to remember this. I spend so much time thinking about how unworthy I am forgetting that I’m precious in the Lord’s sight! I finally made it I to First Kings last night. I love having a “fresh” start in a new book! 🙂 Hopefully it won’t take me as long as 1 & 2 Samuel did… Self-discipline! (^_^) I hope your reading is going well! This accountability certainly helps me. 🙂

    • Thanks, Shar! I think we all struggle from time to time with viewing ourselves the way God does. That’s why we must stay in the Word & meditate on it constantly. It is truth & nourishment for the soul! Yes, I’m plugging along w/my Bible reading…up to Job now.

      • Yes, its so important to stay in His Word! Wow! You’re moving right along!! I’m still in 1st Kings… The 16th chapter. I plan to do some reading when we put the little ones to bed. Bedtime is usually 8 but they’re being good tonight! 🙂
        ~ Blessings!!

  2. sarahlearichards

    I went to a church once where one of the men said that those God favored were His favorites. I don’t think that means He loves them more than the ones He does not favor.

Leave a Reply

