We Saved $217 Today!

005

004

I got tired of the pens and pencils rolling around in the drawer of this side table, so I went dumpster diving in our recycling box.  No worries, the boxes were clean.  They are both Ziploc boxes that I cut out one side and taped together to form a tray.  Remember my sock drawer overhaul?  Well, this is very similar.  Look out now!  No drawer in my house is safe!  Have tape … will craft!

I did have to trim about a half inch around the perimeter as the box was too tall for this shallow drawer, but that wasn’t difficult.  Then I just taped around it for reinforcement.  As you can see, I separated the pens and pencils, so we can quickly retrieve what we’re looking for.  How is it that so many pens find their way into our home?  I haven’t had to purchase any in forever!

So, I figure the little organizers are $1 at the dollar store, which means I saved $2 today by using supplies I had on hand and a little ingenuity!

You ask where did we save the remaining $215 today?  …

The credit for this savings goes, first of all, to God, who gives us favor at every turn!  Secondly, to my husband, whose middle name is “Master Negotiator”!  Yes, he has two middle names because he’s so special!  Haha.

Well, the story goes like this:  Our garage door decided to give up last Friday night just after my husband left town for a men’s retreat with a group of 60 men from our church.  What an unexpected thing to have it go on the blink!  The torsion spring sprung!  So, we needed to replace both springs, plus a tune up.  We are creatures of habit and are so accustomed to going in and out through the garage, so using the front door for the last several days has been inconvenient to say the least.  I digress…

Sears came out this evening to repair it and initially, the guy quoted the repair at $665!  Ouch!  Talk about unexpected!  I prayed that the Lord would give us favor and help us with this expense.  We’ve been hit with back to back electric bills of $718 amd $596!  We have a budget, but it has been severely tested this year already.  Anyway, thankfully, my husband got home in time to speak with the repairman just as he was quoting me the price.  I don’t know how he does it, but I know we never, ever pay full price for anything!  He’s incredible.  He got the guy down to $450 out the door!  There’s our savings of $215!

Thank you, Lord!  So, yes, we saved $217 today!

My little craft project only saved $2 and, yes, I could have easily gone to the dollar store and purchased the needed supplies.  But, why do that?  I was actually tickled with myself that I came up with this handy, little tray.  It should hold up for quite a while and when it decides to tear, I’m certain we’ll have another box I can craft a replacement out of.

Instead of running to the store every time a need arises, why not ask the question:

  • Is this necessary?
  • What if I don’t buy this?
  • Can I make something similar?
  • Can I borrow from family or a friend? (for temporary use)
  • Can I delay this purchase?
  • If I must purchase, do the homework to ensure the lowest price possible.

Saving $2 seems rather trivial, but, what if I saved $2 every day?  Sometimes it’s the small habits that can snowball into larger ones.  Before you know it, you’re more creative than you ever dreamed was possible and the savings just follow as a natural occurrence.

I like challenge.  I think it’s because I’m stubborn.  So, it’s a competition of sorts.  I am always on the look out for new ways to save money even though we already incorporate quite a few frugal habits.  We make our own laundry detergent, do home hair cuts (aside from mine, but I don’t get it cut that often), cook from scratch, etc., etc.  The extensive list of 60 frugal habits can be found in an earlier post:

https://englishrose2014.wordpress.com/2014/02/02/budget-aving/

What is your favorite frugal habit?

2 Comments

Filed under frugal living

2 responses to “We Saved $217 Today!

  1. Valerie

    Haha, I love this: “have tape, will craft”! Too funny! 🙂
    And yay for the price drop on your garage door! That’s awesome. My favorite way to be frugal is to buy things second-hand. Clothes, toys, BOOKS for school, you name it! It’s quite a great feeling to know you just bought a book for $1.25 instead of $14.99, ya know?! 😀

    • Haha. Yes, I’m dangerous with tape…I get a little too happy! 🙂 Definitely! We often buy clothes and books second hand. My kids are older (14 &16) so they’re toys are more expensive now! 😉 One of my favorite places are used bookstores! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

