What Are You Living For?

The Christian band, Building 429, has a song called, Where I Belong, that just speaks to me.  There’s a line that says, “I’m not home yet.”  That reminder offers me great hope.

 “Dear friends, I warn you as “temporary residents and foreigners” to keep away from worldly desires that wage war against your very souls.” ~ I Peter 2:11

“Don’t let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, and trust also in me.  There is more than enough room in my Father’s home. If this were not so, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you? When everything is ready, I will come and get you, so that you will always be with me where I am. And you know the way to where I am going.” ~ John 14:1-3

We can easily lose sight of the truth that this world and all its trappings will one day pass away.  It is all temporary.  The things we strive for in this life…gone.  The Mercedes, the big houses, the executive positions, fame…gone.  There’s nothing wrong with any of those things.  It’s just – they won’t last.  Only what we do for Christ will last. (Matthew 24:35)

There’s an old song (by Helen H. Lemmel – 1922) that goes like this:

Turn your eyes upon Jesus, look full in his wonderful face

and the things of earth will grow strangely dim in the light of His glory and grace

I’m living for the day that I see my Jesus face to face, when I see the One who took my place!  No, this world is not my home nor my final destination.  I’m heaven bound, for it is there I will dwell in a place with pure joy, peace and love.  It is there I will see my mother’s sweet face and enveloping embrace once more.  It is there I will see all those who have gone on before.

That’s the day I’m living for!  And all the days in between now and then, I am living for the King of Kings, striving to bring as many to heaven with me as I can.  May He use all of us for His purposes to further His kingdom!  What are you living for?

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Christian Living

2 responses to “What Are You Living For?

  1. It is all but a vapor isn’t it? Thank you!

Leave a Reply

