Thrift Store Haul

004

Today’s thrift store adventure was successful!  This is what I found:

  • Four pairs of men’s shorts for my ever growing son – $3 each
  • One pair of shorts for hubby – $3
  • Casual men’s shirt for my son – $3
  • Two pairs of capris for myself – $3 each
  • 18 Joy Mangano non-slip “Huggable Hangers”- $3.50
  • a pen radio – $3.60
  • a set of VHS tapes – “History of the Gun” (A&E Special)  – $2.10
  • Hardback Book – $2

We mainly went to look for summer clothes for my son, but also to use the 30% off coupon I had.  🙂   All of the shorts were name brand, such as:  American Eagle, Polo, Aeropostle, Arizona, etc.

I absolutely love the huggable hangers (as seen on HSN)!  They are tremendous space savers, in addition to ensuring clothing doesn’t land on the floor.  I’ve bought several sets over the years, so I was thrilled to find the “like new” set of 18 today!  If they were grungy, I wouldn’t have been tempted, but they are in mint condition.

Guess whose idea the pen radio was?  Yes, my 14 yr. old son!  It was brand new in the package and even included batteries and headphones.  He was too thrilled!  What is it about teen age boys and gadgets?  😉

All in all, a good treasure hunt!  That’s the interesting thing about the thrift store.  You never know what you may find.  I’ve shopped at this particular one for a long time and have gotten some amazing deals.

We also dropped off two large bags of donations as well as the bags from my Dad’s recent purging.  So, our trip was dual purpose.  Ironically, we donated two sets of VHS tape series … and we brought home another!  I guess you can’t go too wrong for a couple dollars.  Haha.

Thrift store prices vary from area to area.  As I’ve previously mentioned, we live in a high cost of living area, so these prices are pretty good.  I’ve been to some thrift stores that have a $.99 bin for clothing, which is usually the last step before the trash; but $.99 cent clothing is not to be had around here.  You might be able to find a t-shirt for that price, but that’s about it.  Considering a pair of shorts at Target or a department store runs about $20-$25 a pair, I’m pretty satisfied with paying $3 a pair!

5 Comments

Filed under frugal living, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Thrift Store Haul

  1. Valerie

    Nice!!
    I almost always drop things off at the same time as I shop. 🙂

    • Thanks! 🙂 Combining errands is a great $ saver. I prefer to donate to the Salvation Army, so I usually take donation bags on days I take my Dad to the Dr. since they’re on the same street. Occassionally, I’ll take bags to the one I shop at.

  2. Yes! I’m all about the thrift store shopping as well (http://helloscarlettblog.com/2014/03/18/thrift-store-shopping/). Go us! 🙂


    Emory
    helloscarlettblog.com

  3. Great finds!
    It’s too bad you don’t have many $.99 deals in your area.
    I live in Phoenix and almost refuse to spend more than $.99 on any clothing for myself. I’ll spend more on stuff for my son or Hubby, as their items are harder to come by. But the perspective of $20 vs $3…. Is a great one

Leave a Reply

