Dad Fractured His Foot

My cell phone rang at 7:30 this morning and I jumped out of bed to grab it.  It was my dad letting me know he’d fallen and hurt his foot.  He’d been outside trying to shovel his porch.  Then he came inside and slipped on his laminate floor in the dining room.  He barely made it to the chair to sit down and call me.

My first thought was that we’d have to call an ambulance if I couldn’t get him to the car.  I quickly got dressed and had my son come along with me.  I would need his help shoveling his Grandpa’s sidewalk and steps, not to mention, helping me possibly get him to the car.  When I arrived at his house, I was happy to see that he could take small steps and he felt confident that he would be able to make it out to the car.  I was relieved to hear this, especially since I knew the hospital the local ambulance would route him to was one he did not want to visit.  With my son on one side of my dad and me on the other, slowly, ever so slowly, he began a thirty minute trek that would normally take sixty seconds.  One little step at a time.  We finally made it to the convertible!  Thank God I decided to drive that instead of the SUV, which sits up much higher and would have been impossible for him to get into today!

I dropped my son off at our house, knowing he’d be completely bored waiting at the hospital.  Upon arriving at the hospital, I pulled up to the emergency entrance and spotted two security personnel on their way to take a wheelchair inside.  My dad hailed the wheelchair, much like one would hail a cab.  😉  The two gentlemen were very helpful and even assisted getting him into the wheelchair.  They volunteered to take him to the registration desk while I parked the car, which was very kind.

Everyone at the hospital was super compassionate and helpful.  The ER Dr. even called my dad’s orthopedic Dr. to schedule a follow-up appointment for the morning.  They said I would need to pick up a copy of his x-rays in the radiology department when we were finished, however, before we left, they even brought the x-ray disc to us in the ER!  Talk about service with a smile!  🙂

I felt like we truly received the VIP treatment and it was most appreciated.  God blessed us with favor, for sure.

The x-ray results came back that he has a small fracture in his right foot.  Initially, the Dr. wanted to put him in a cast but was leary about him being on crutches.  She wanted him to use a walker for greater stability, which was met by much disdain by my dad.  He thinks walkers and canes are for the elderly, a category he does not consider himself a part of at the youthful age of 77.  😉

I inquired whether an orthopedic walking boot would be suitable based on his injury.  (I’m well aquainted with walking boots as my darling daughter has sprained her ankles several times over the years.)  The Dr. followed my suggestion, despite being unsure they even had walking boots in stock.  It reinforced what I’ve come to learn over the years…When it pertains to your health care, you have to take the bull by the horns.  Don’t be afraid to speak up and research, research, research.  Be an informed patient.  Okay, I’m getting off my soap box…

We left the hospital, got his pain medication filled and swung by his house to pick up his clothes and regular medication.  He’ll be recuperating at our house for several days.

When we got back to my house, there were two possible entrances for my dad to come in.  He attempted to navigate the three steps from the garage into the house, however, that proved impossible.  He sat on one of the steps for a few minutes to catch his breath, but then we decided it’d be best to enter through the front door.  There are only two steps and they aren’t as steep as the other set.  We attempted the other steps because they were closer, but just not feasible.  His trek trying to get into the house spanned nearly an hour.  A walk that would normally require about 60 seconds took almost 60 minutes!

As I stood beside him and at times, behind him to make sure he didn’t fall, I wished I could either carry him or help move his leg.  (Mind you, my father is 6’1″ and 270 lbs.! Not exactly possible.)  I felt so helpless.  So, I prayed…a lot.  I prayed that God would give my dad strength and ease his pain.  It even began drizzling while he was hobbling along.  Each step my dad took was painful and it pained me just watching his sometimes feeble attempts.  Finally, he made it over the threshhold of the front door… in out of the rain finally!  Once we got all the way inside and closed the door … I congratulated my dad and clapped my hands in excitement!!  We had made it!  Finally.  I said “we” because each step my dad painstakingly took, I took with him in spirit.  🙂

My husband took my daughter to work earlier and picked her up this evening, which is normally my task.  She had lovingly prepared dinner before she had to go to work as she knew it’d be a long day (which it was!).  Her thoughtfulness is especially appreciated!  I swung by the grocery store on my way home and picked up essentials, like: milk, eggs and chocolate morsels.  What chocolate isn’t an essential??  😉  Haha.  She very sweetly whipped up a batch of chocolate chip cookies after a long day of work, which was most therapeutic after a day like today.

Thankful that God’s grace is sufficient for me and in my weakness, He is strong!  Praying for a speedy recovery for my dad too.

4 Comments

Filed under Caregiver

4 responses to “Dad Fractured His Foot

  1. Gede Prama

    Thank you so much for sharing these beautiful words and for such a wonderful response…:)

  2. Bless your dad’s heart and your gracious help. But God’s grace is totally sufficient as you said. How thankful we are for it. I pray that tomorrow will be a better day for all of you!!!

Leave a Reply

