What a Difference a Day Makes

Each day since my father’s release from the hospital two days ago we’ve seen drastic improvement.  I am convinced that it is a direct result of the countless prayers that have reached heaven on his behalf.  I also know that being around family and in a home setting helps in the recovery process quite a bit.

Today the home health nurse came out to do her initial assessment.  She’ll return tomorrow for his weekly blood work monitoring as he’s on a blood thinner.  I should hear from the physical therapists shortly to line up their visits.  So far, I’ve scheduled four Dr. appts. – He’ll be seeing the urologist, cardiologist, orthopedic and primary care physicians.  And I need to reschedule his podiatrist appt. but that will take a back seat to all the other more pressing matters.

I like the home health nurse, Dawn.  She was very professional yet personable also, so I think we’ll all get along nicely.  My dad likes to joke around with everyone and she seemed to appreciate his sense of humor.

My daughter and I applied lotion to his very dry legs and ointment to a couple spots.  I am thankful that my daughter is so loving and such a good nurse’s assistant.  🙂  I have to brag on my son as well as he’s been an invaluable help.  He got up with my dad at 4a.m. to hold the walker while he got up off the couch.  He’ll sleep downstairs tonight so he’ll be able to assist him easily.  My husband and I have been taking night time cold medicine and we have been knocked out!  Initially my husband had a fever for a few days but has now been reduced to a bad cold, which we’ve all gotten now.  We’re on the mend, though.

Dad is determined to make a full recovery and I’m delighted to see his spunk and resolve!  Mobility is a big issue at present due to his fractured right foot, but he is maneuvering quite well with his walker.  Before today, he was only walking from the couch to the bathroom and that’s as far as he ever went.  I suggested yesterday that he attempt to walk a little further into the other living room, but, at that point, he was due to take another dose of pain medication and wanted to delay the additional exercise.  However, this afternoon with much encouragement, he walked a lap around several rooms with his walker.  He is almost able to take regular strides with the aid of the walker.  I am so proud of him!  I know he’s anxious to return to his own home, but so far, he’s been a trouper about sleeping on the couch.  Regrettably, our guest bedroom is upstairs and stairs are out of the question right now.  He says the couch is comfortable, so I’m glad.

This time last week, I took dad to the ER for the first time for his fractured foot.  Then the following day (last Wednesday) was the beginning of an arduous recovery process from sepsis (bacteria in the blood that many people die from).  He’s come a long way since then!  God’s mercy, grace and strength have accompanied us all along the way and I am so grateful that Jesus is the Friend who sticks closer than a brother!  When I have been at my weakest, His grace has sustained me.  Ironically, during this past week I haven’t been feeling well myself.  There’s no good time for a family emergency, but this last week really wasn’t.  Somehow, God has shown Himself mighty on my behalf and undergirded me with supernatural strength as only He can.  My testimony is of the faithfulness of God.  Sometimes life happens.  Many times we are faced with challenges and difficulties, but God always shows up in the midst of them and proves Himself mighty to save!  Truth be told, He never leaves the believer’s side.  He is always with me, this I know.  “Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever.”

During times of stress during my father’s hospitalization, I found great solace in the chapel on the same floor.  Since I spent a lot of time at the hospital, I explored his floor quite a bit.  They call it a “meditation room” but I call it a chapel.  It’s open 24 hours a day to all faiths and it was a peaceful respite for my weary soul.  During my many visits, I was the only one making use of this oasis.  Of that, I was glad of at the time.  Although, I certainly hope others find peace there during their time of need as well.

“At the Cross, at the Cross, where I first saw the light and the burdens of my heart rolled away.  It was there by faith I received my sight and now I am happy all the day.”  (a great hymn by Isaac Watts)

If your soul is weary today, my friend, pull up a chair at the foot of the Cross.  There is room at the Cross for you.  There is grace and forgiveness.  Mercy too.  Strength for the journey and healing for you.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Caregiver

Leave a Reply

