Wonderful Weekend

Well, the weekend is coming to a close and I’m thankful for my sister’s visit!  We shared lots of laughs as usual and her very presence eased this caregiver’s load.  As always, the time flew much too quickly!  She got on the road this afternoon just as the rain gave way to a snowy mixture.  We both headed out at the same time as I needed to get a few things from Walmart for my dad.

Earlier we worked together and soaked our dad’s feet in Epsom salt.  We had him sit in the wheelchair while we gave him the spa/torture treatment.  (not really torture, but it was uncomfortable for him, although necessary.) You wouldn’t believe what a production all of this was!  It was a little precarious as his fractured foot remains very sensitive.  We didn’t do much with that foot, but we wanted to soak and moisturize the other foot primarily.  As people age, many don’t take care of themselves the way they should, and he is no exception.   This evening he said that he thought the soaking really helped to ease the pain in his foot, so I was glad to hear that.  I am a firm believer in the healing properties of Epsom salt.  Magnesium is a many splendored mineral!

As soon as his foot heals, we are heading directly to the podiatrist; but for now that is not a priority.  He also could stand a check up at the optometrist as it’s been several years since his last visit.

Last year was the year of dental work for him!  Poor guy.  At age 76, he had two wisdom teeth removed!  Can you imagine?  They removed one at a time since he’s on a blood thinner and a greater risk.  He had multiple deep cleaning visits with the hygenist and several regular dental visits aside from the oral surgeon appointments.  His recovery from the first wisdom tooth took a while, so we were relieved that the second surgery involved a far less painful recovery.

Dad recuperated at our house for a week last October during his bout with severe bronchitis.  It nearly landed him in the hospital, but, mercifully, he recovered.  I always say he’s like the Energizer Bunny … He just keeps going!  He has a lot of inner fortitude and a tremendous will to live, obviously.  He’s been through a lot, but through it all, he bounces back like nothing ever happened!  He’s amazing.  He gives me great hope, that’s for sure!  🙂

Last night my sister made shepherd’s pie, which was the best I’ve ever had!  She browned the ground beef with onions and made up a beef bouillon gravy.  Then she added sliced carrots and peas, and topped with mashed potatoes.  My taste buds were in heaven!  Yumminess.  She also whipped up a batch of homemade biscuits, which we all enjoyed as well.  As you can see, she is an excellent cook!  She and her husband both enjoy watching cooking shows and trying out new recipes.  I, on the other hand, would rather do most any household chore aside from cooking.  🙂  I cook from scratch pretty much daily, but, if given the choice, I’d gladly resign.  Haha!

Tonight my darling daughter made delicious teriyaki turkey burgers with a homemade sauce.  She really out did herself.  She is an excellent cook as well!  She cut up fresh carrots and cucumbers and we dipped them in salad dressing and had leftover mashed potatoes.  Another yummy dinner!

My dad is watching re-runs of baseball games tonight, gearing up for the big day tomorrow!  Tomorrow is Opening Day for the baseball season and, as he says, he’s been looking forward to it since the end of last season!  🙂  Yes, he’s an avid baseball fan.  He asked me twice today what times the nurse and physical therapist will be arriving tomorrow.  I think he wants to make doubly sure it will not interfere with his plans of watching Opening Day t.v. coverage, even the pre-show.  He’s so funny.

He’s walking much better and faster too.  We have to play “traffic cop” and caution him to slow down sometimes!  We don’t want him to get the walker out too far in front of him and then fall.  It has two wheels on the front and the back two are pegs.

Whenever he complains (which is every other breath)…I remind him to think about how far he’s come over the last week.  I tell him (or is it speaking those things that be not as though they were?) that each week, we will see a marked difference in his recovery!  Each week he’ll be walking better and able to manage the steps.  He agrees with me and is definitely ready to have this injury behind him.  I’m pretty sure his home will never be more comforting to him as when he is able to return.  I bought him an egg crate foam mattress topper today, so hopefully that will make the couch more comfortable.

All in all, we had a good weekend.  My sister’s company was just what the doctor ordered.  Before her visit, I was just about at the end of my rope…just exhausted from caring for my dad round the clock.  It’s always encouraging any time I get to spend time with my siblings.  God knew just what I needed.  He’s ever faithful.

“The generous will prosper;
    those who refresh others will themselves be refreshed.” ~ Proverbs 11:25

Hope you all had a blessed weekend as well, my friends!  🙂

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Caregiver

2 responses to “Wonderful Weekend

  1. Wow you are being such a great servant to God through all that you’re doing! And ouch! 2 wisdom teeth at 76! I have 2 at 22 and need to get them removed after giving birth!! Indeed it sounds like your sister is an excellent cook, ship a plate to NC please!! 🙂

    Glad to hear that things are going well your way!

    -blessings!

Leave a Reply

