Tomorrow’s The Big Day!

After recuperating at our house for nearly two weeks, my dad is officially ready to return to his home tomorrow!!  This is such a miracle, folks!  He was literally at death’s door with sepsis (a raging infection of bacteria in the blood that many die from) a couple weeks ago.  And to complicate matters he is recovering from a fractured foot.  Overall, he is doing very well, though!  I know he’s excited to be returning to a familiar environment where he can watch whatever he wants on t.v. and not be bossed around by well meaning daughters and granddaughters.  🙂  The downside to being home again is he won’t have anyone at his beck and call.  Literally, just about every waking moment is spent performing some task he’s dreamed up.  (Such as:  He thought I should call my sister to see if she received a package.  He wanted to place yet another Amazon order today.  He wants his boot off.  He wants his boot back on.  He wants his feet propped up.  No, his heel is hurting so he now wants his feet down.  There’s a bag of trash in the bathroom for you.  There’s some soiled clothes in there too.  Move this walker over…)  The list goes on infinitely.  We have all been very patient, however, our patience is running just a wee bit thin.  Let’s just say, I think we’ll all be happy for Thursday, April 3rd!!

I set out his clothes earlier this morning and made him oatmeal before his final visit with the visiting nurse.  She was pleasant and wound up staying almost an hour.  She must have a very flexible schedule to endure listening to my father’s many stories.  I let them talk while I continued doing housework in the other room.  After she left, he felt compelled to rehash the entire visit despite the fact that I assured him I heard everything from the other room.  In between monologues, he napped quite a bit.  But, then again, he seems to do that every day.  I guess he has to rest up for the next story!  Yesterday in the car, my 14 yr. old son marveled at his range of knowledge and said, “Boy, Grandpa, you’re like an encyclopedia!”  Haha!  🙂

A friend of my dad’s brought over an entire smorgasbord this evening for dinner!  The buffet consisted of: steamed shrimp, salmon, BBQ chicken, buffalo wings, rice, green beans, and corn on the cob.  It was all delicious!!  He’s an excellent cook!  My favorite was the shrimp dipped in cocktail sauce.

I was determined to get a lot done around the house despite the other demands of the day!  I cleaned the bathroom, dusted & polished the wood furniture, vacuumed, loaded the dishwasher, washed & folded two loads of laundry, rounded up all the library books due, scheduled our spring HVAC service, called the wheelchair rental co. to schedule pick up, helped my son with school work, worked on my quilt and went on an evening walk with hubby!  Whew!  And this doesn’t consider all I did for my dad today.  I don’t know where the energy came from, but I’m glad I had it!  I think I was determined more than anything.  I guess it goes to show that with a made up mind, you can accomplish most anything!  I didn’t even take my vitamins and supplements today!  They usually give me a lot of energy, especially the Royal Jelly and fish oil.  It was a productive day indeed!  Tomorrow will be even more so!

After I take my daughter to work, we’ll load up and take my dad home.  My husband is going to drive over there as well to assist us in getting him settled in between work meetings.  I’m glad he is able to come too.  My dad will be home for a few days and then the doctor appointments begin!  I’ll get him some fresh groceries in a couple days.  Managing two households can be very challenging!  But, I have learned to take it one day at a time because when I try to overthink things too much or get out too far in front of myself, that’s when worry and anxiety can easily creep in.  Trust.  That’s the key.

“What a Friend we have in Jesus,
All our sins and griefs to bear!
What a privilege to carry
Everything to God in prayer!
O what peace we often forfeit,
O what needless pain we bear,
All because we do not carry
Everything to God in prayer!”  by Joseph Scriven

If there’s one thing I’ve learned throughout my dad’s most recent health crisis, it is that my job is to do my very best and commit to God the rest.  I’m a mother of three and tend to be very nuturing, but I cannot make a grown man adopt healthy choices if he doesn’t want to, nor can I ensure nothing bad happens.  I can’t take on caring for his very life as my personal burden.  I can only do my best.  I must leave the rest to God.  Otherwise, I would drive myself crazy.  He is an adult and a very opinionated one at that.  My role is to provide the best care and guidance possible.

I am so thankful that the hotline to heaven is open 24 hours a day.  You’ll never get a busy signal (the younger generation may not know what that even is!) or an answering machine.  Always a live connection to our Great High Priest, who daily makes intercession for us himself.  That is such a comforting thought!  What a true privilege prayer really is.  Such a powerful force.

As my dad transitions to his house and being alone again, would you consider praying for him?  I’d be ever grateful.  Thank you, friends.  🙂

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Caregiver

One response to “Tomorrow’s The Big Day!

  1. Karen

    That is wonderful that your dad has healed so quickly. Yes, I will continue to pray for him. Karen

Leave a Reply

