My #1 Son

They say that motherhood is the only time your heart walks outside of your body.  I tend to agree.  All three of my children captivated my heart the day they were born and my heart will never let go!  It doesn’t matter how old they get, they’re still deeply rooted in my heart for always.  

This mother’s heart was overjoyed last night when my #1 son called.  I haven’t heard his voice for a couple months, making it especially wonderful.  (We text fairly often, so there’s some redemption there.  Thank God for technology and unlimited texting!) We live 1,000 miles apart and the distance is difficult.  I’m hopeful that we will move closer at some point in the near future.  His siblings miss him very much also!

It was so great to hear that he’s doing well and performing with excellence in his job.  He’s very competitive (like his mother) and it serves him well.  We invariably can’t wait until we visit the next time.  Seeing him just twice a year is hard.  I know many parents with grown children live thousands of miles apart, but I am not one who is happy about it!  For one thing, when grandchildren begin to arrive, I need to be there.  I want to be a part of their lives, not just Christmastime Grammy!  My #1 son and I have always been close so it’s especially challenging.  He’ll turn 26 this summer, which is really quite amazing, especially considering I’m only 35!  Haha! …Not really.  However, I do remember 35!  🙂  I’m really unsure how this thing works – the kids getting older and I’m getting younger!  Fuzzy math, that’s all.

Not a day goes by that I don’t think of and pray for him.  He’s such a special young man, who God has great plans for!   If you have children, you know how it is with your firstborn.  He/she is your “experiment”.  I remember when I was expecting him, I had lofty plans to use only cloth diapers and would definitely breastfeed.  He would have only natural and healthy things, only the best!  Well, I did use cloth diapers for a while, but then switched to disposables.  And I did start out nursing, but complications arose, so we switched to formula.  Ah, the best laid plans…  But, my point was, with the firstborn, they seem to have your best intentions and your best years.  There would be nine years in between him and my next one.  So, he was the only child for a long time.  He had my undivided attention.    

We homeschooled him from 5th-12th grades and he was dual enrolled at the community college during his high school years.  He nearly got his Associate’s Degree by the time he graduated from high school.  We’ve watched him become a very responsible young adult and ultimately choose a career path that brings tremendous fulfillment and challenge.  He’s at the stage now where he’s flourishing and this mother would really like to share life with him again.  I guess I feel like we’ve nurtured and educated him and now I’d like to sit back and enjoy watching up close the successful outcome.  There’s no greater joy than watching your children gain their independence and doing well in general.  My job as a parent is to work myself out of a job.  And, with him, the day-to-day parenting is done.  I will always be his mother, but I won’t always be there to tell him that energy drinks are bad for you!  Wink, wink.  😉  

Despite his stage of independence, sons and daughters need cheerleaders throughout their lifetime.  And, I will forever be his biggest fan.  I will always hold life’s banner that reads, “You Can Do It” and “I’m So Very Proud Of You”!  Love, Mom

 

2 Comments

Filed under Parenting

2 responses to “My #1 Son

  1. I love the “motherhood is the only time your heart walks outside your body” statement. . . oh how true that resonates with me! Even though they’re grown . . . that special bond will never leave. What a precious gift Our Creator gives moms . . . even when the “child” has become a prodigal, the heart is always waiting — knowing He’s got it all in His hands 🙂

    thank you for the stop by My Journey . . . I look forward to reading more of your heart!

Leave a Reply

