Living Water

As I was out and about today, I selected David Phelps’ album on my iPod in the car.  The song, There is a River came on and it never fails to stop me in my tracks.  That song just speaks to me like few others.  Perhaps because it takes me back to a time of worship in the early 90’s, a time right after my mother’s sudden homegoing and a season of just pressing into God and His presence as never before.  Such a raw time, but also a period where God’s presence was so real to me.

As I sang along with David Phelps, I reflected on the lyrics found in John chapter 4.

“Jesus answered, ‘Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again,  but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life’.”  ~ John 4:13

The invitation is for all.  No prerequisites.  No club rules.  No cliques.  No limit on baggage.  Just come.  The Master is waiting.

I love how Isaiah says it:

“Come, all you who are thirsty,
    come to the waters;
and you who have no money,
    come, buy and eat!
Come, buy wine and milk
    without money and without cost.
 Why spend money on what is not bread,
    and your labor on what does not satisfy?
Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good,
    and you will delight in the richest of fare.
 Give ear and come to me;
    listen, that you may live.
I will make an everlasting covenant with you,
    my faithful love promised to David.” ~ Isaiah 55

Is your spirit dry and thirsty?  Does it long for more than this world can satisfy?

“There is a river that flows from deep within,

There is a fountain that frees the soul from sin.
Come to this water, there is a vast supply.”     
There is a river that never shall run dry. ( words by David & Max Sapp)

 

“He that believeth on me, as the scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water.” ~ John 7:38

How do we access this living water?  “Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” (Hebrews 4:16)  Come to God just as you are.  Eternal life and peace are free gifts from our loving God.  It’s not about works that any man should boast.  It’s all Him.  Won’t you accept the extravagant gift of grace He extends to you today?  Did you know there’s nothing you or I could ever do to make God love us any more or any less?  His love is from everlasting to everlasting and it is for you today, friend.  He loves you so.

Spend some time in His presence today, won’t you?  He is waiting for you.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Living

Leave a Reply

