Brag on my Kids

Is it okay if I just take a moment and share how very proud I am of my kids?  You know, as a parent, you spend years pouring into their lives — teaching, correcting, imploring, scolding, modeling, and, most of all, praying!  And when you begin to see real character forming when they do things out of the goodness of their hearts and not because they’re told, it is satisfying, yes; but more importantly, rewarding and encouraging that your investment is paying off!!  My “kids” are growing up on me!  My daughter is 16 and will turn 17 in November.  My son is 14 and will turn 15 in July.  They’re still kids to me, of course.  Allow me to share two recent occasions that they really blessed my husband and I:

  1.)  Easter   ~   We gave them Easter baskets as usual.  But this year, they surprised us with Easter baskets.  My daughter made homemade dark chocolate truffles for my husband and I.  She also made an adorable pin cushion for me!  She got the pattern from a sewing book she checked out from the library.  She’s so creative!  She made the cutest, little Easter baskets – one out of a decorative tissue box and cut out a cardboard cross on the front of it.  The other was made out of a cardboard box, complete with a handle and all covered with pretty scrapbooking paper.  She’s really gifted.

Our son took pictures of a couple of our wedding pictures and also printed out some he recently took to make a photo collage.  One of the pictures was of my husband and I holding hands on a recent walk in the neighborhood.  (just our hands clasped together)  He has a good eye for these things.  Then he stapled cut out rose petals all around the border.  Very sweet.  Maybe that’s his way of saying how our loving relationship makes him feel secure.  I don’t know, but what I do know is, that our kids are super thoughtful and creative!  That deeply touched my husband and I.  

10153258_10202895751768233_6503252961746369278_n

1601047_10202895748048140_6368123143220406195_n

922980_10202895752368248_6290753045454721788_n

 

 2.)  Yard Work  ~  If you’ve been reading my blog lately, you have heard me drone on about home improvements and spring purging, etc.  Well, we are continuing on this trek and yesterday my daughter took it upon herself (and enlisted the help of her brother) to rake out a flower bed.  This was quite an undertaking and required dumping at least 3 wheelbarrows full of leaves and sticks.  Her brother jumped ship midway through, but I was outside to offer moral support.  The important thing is that she took the initiative to spruce up the yard!  Her goal is to clean up one flower bed each day.  This is quite a goal considering she doesn’t normally do yardwork.  Although, in her defense, I have to say that she did mow the backyard on the John Deere over the weekend.  She says she wanted to practice her driving skills.  She said she even practiced parallel parking with the mower!  Haha!  She’s a nut.  But you know what they say about nuts, right?  … They usually don’t fall far from the tree.  Haha!  I digress…  

The common denominator in both of these instances is initiative.  That is one of the first steps toward personal responsibility.  I often preach, “If you see something that needs to be done (whether or not you made the mess or created the situation), take it upon yourself to fix it!”  What a blessing it is to see the kids practicing what I’ve preached all these years!  Love my kids!  

*P.S.  I handwrote my kids a special thank you note for the Easter baskets and gifts, not only thanking them for their thoughtfulness, but also reminding them that we pray for them daily.  We pray that they will serve Jesus every day of their lives and that they will make good choices.  And also reminded them of our love for them… My son read his note again later and he said it really touched him.  I thought that was so special.  I plan on writing the kids more notes in the future as it is something they can reflect on way into the future.  

 *P.P.S.  We also mailed an Easter basket to our grown son, who is 25 with a special Easter card enclosed.  He may not be all that interested in the basket or the candy, but that’s not why I sent it.  I paid $8 for shipping to mail him a basket of love from mom and dad!  I always want our kids to know they are loved beyond words and daily prayed for!

Bonus:

10171828_10202895752768258_5160870954389876548_n

Beautiful Easter flowers from my best friend!  (aka husband!)  🙂

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Parenting

5 responses to “Brag on my Kids

  1. This is a very sweet post! Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

