Magnesium: A Many Splendored Mineral

I’m not a scientist nor an explorer, but I’ve recently discovered the huge benefits of magnesium!  Allow me to explain…

At the ripe age of 44, uninterrupted sleep has become a distant memory for the last couple of years.  It would seem I’m in the phase of life called “perimenopause”, a fancy word for “Your body is changing and life as you now know it will never be the same.  Hang on, ’cause it’s gonna be a bumpy ride!”  Such is life.  Yes, it’s the stage right before the big change commonly known as menopause.  I can tell you, sometimes your body betrays you and does things that defy all logic.

I used to be able to sleep with no problem whatsoever.  Then, shortly before I had neck surgery in 2012, I began having trouble staying asleep.  I can go to sleep with no problem generally.  But, it seems that hormonal changes affect the ability to remain asleep.  I’m so jealous of my husband’s ability to snore through the night!  😉  He does so with such ease! 🙂

I’ve never been one to take a lot of medicine and I opt for the all natural route whenever possible.  A few months back, I discovered magnesium in gel cap form and decided to give it a whirl as a sleep aid.  Magnesium is a natural sedative.  I’m very sensitive to all medication, so the 125 mg. dosage works like a charm.  I don’t take it every night but when I do, it helps to regulate my sleep pattern for several days.  I’m so sensitive to medicine that one Advil (200 mg.) puts me to sleep.  That never used to happen!  See what I mean about your body changing?

 

http://www.amazon.com/Now-Foods-Magnesium-Citrate-Tablets/dp/B000BV1O26/ref=sr_1_2?s=hpc&ie=UTF8&qid=1398452218&sr=1-2&keywords=magnesium+citrate+capsules

 

Another thing that didn’t used to bother me was indigestion.  I usually steer clear of tomato sauces (i.e. spaghetti, lasagna, etc.) and spicy food late at night.  I have an all natural remedy for that too…Papaya tablets with mint.  I like the NOW brand.  They’re chewable and work great!  Actually, they’re good for many stomach and digestion issues.

http://www.amazon.com/Now-Foods-Papaya-Chewable-Lozenges/dp/B0014UABCW/ref=sr_1_6?s=hpc&ie=UTF8&qid=1398451059&sr=1-6&keywords=papaya+enzyme

 

{Disclaimer:  I’m not a medical professional (obviously!) so please consult your physician for advice.}

The other awesome form of magnesium is in Epsom salt!!!  I do a lot of work around the house, not to mention, caring for my father.  No grass ever grows under my feet.  I’m always in motion.  As such, from time to time, I have muscle aches.  Plus, I’m recovering from a sprained arm from scraping ice and snow off the SUV.  This injury has droned on way too long.  So, I’ve been soaking in Epsom salt regularly and have noticed such a difference!!

I’m the new poster child for Epsom salt.  Just saying that makes me feel like an old fogie, but if it works, I don’t mind that label!

Lastly, the third benefit of magnesium is it helps with regularity.  No disappointments there.  ‘Nuff said.

I love to pass along information on things that have helped me.  And, if you have any of the above challenges, it might be worth an investigation.  Some of the best things in life are natural.  And, I am so thankful that God gave us magnesium!  They say that most people have a deficiency in magnesium, so there’s little risk you can over do it.  Magnesium is an all natural muscle relaxer and I can attest to feeling very relaxed and ready for sleep after soaking in Epsom salt.  It’s one of my new favorite things!  Who knew?

 

6 Comments

Filed under Health Stuff

6 responses to “Magnesium: A Many Splendored Mineral

  1. I love Epsom salts for soaking too. I have trouble sleeping as well, so I’ll have to look into magnesium citrate. Thanks for the tip.

  2. I’ve been taking magnesium for a few years now. I notice a big difference in how my muscles are not as sore and tired at the end of the day. It really helps during pregnancy too. I’ve also been taking a papaya and pineapple enzyme. I have hardly any heartburn this pregnancy compared to my last one because of the enzymes and I also make it a habit to sit upright for 30 minutes after I eat even if I’m really tired.

  3. I’d like to add, just in case some may not know, that for folks like me with high blood pressure issues, epsom salts is a no-no, as some of that salt gets absorbed into the system!

Leave a Reply

