He Directs My Steps

278

The book of Psalms is probably my favorite book of the Bible.  It not only lifts my spirits, but it also is replete with wisdom.

“The Lord directs the steps of the godly.  He delights in every detail of their lives.  Though they stumble, they will never fall, for the Lord holds them by the hand.

Once I was young, and now I am old.  Yet I have never seen the godly abandoned or their children begging for bread.”  ~ Psalm 37:23-25

Don’t you just love this passage?  What a comfort to know that the great God of the universe directs my steps and is interested in even the minute details of my life!  Wow!  That is an amazing thought, isn’t it?  I was just pondering the thought (as if my finite mind can even truly understand this) the other day of God’s care for me, but not only me, the entire state, even the whole U.S. and especially the whole world!  My limited mindset cannot fathom how God does this, but that doesn’t make it any less true!  Somehow (because He’s God!) He can help me in my day to day life, along with seven billion others!

The Lord not only cares for me and directs my paths, but He also provides for every need.  Yes, He is truly an amazing God!  I often reflect on the passage found in Matthew chapter 6 of how if God can take care of the little birds, how much more is He able to care for me, one of His children?  That is a humbling and reassuring thought.

I just want to take a moment and thank God for the Majesty of Who He is, for His provision and direction in my life and for His love.  He is worthy of all our praise!

“The Lord is compassionate and merciful, slow to get angry and filled with unfailing love.” ~ Psalm 103:8

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Living

Leave a Reply

