Home Improvement Update

Well, we’ve been pretty busy around this place lately.  As I previously mentioned, we replaced three toilets a few weeks ago and my husband did a bunch of repair jobs around the house, which makes this wife very happy!  And we just had a valve replaced and other work done on our HVAC system to the tune of $809, so prayerfully, this will help make our electric bill more palatable.  January’s electric bill was $719, February was $597 and March was $556.  Triple ouch!!  That hurts just typing those numbers!  Hopefully those insanely high bills are behind us.  Our family has grown rather fond of eating afterall …

We recently had a contractor come out to give us a quote on replacing all of our windows (all 25!) and are waiting to hear what the final figures are.  (We’ve received several quotes and they want an arm and a leg!) At a minimum, we will have the kitchen window and frame replaced as the wooden frame has been rotting for some time.  He’s also going to give us a quote on power washing the siding and roof, which would be an awesome improvement.  So, we’ll see how reasonable he is.  This contractor was referred to us by a good friend of mine, who just had 17 windows replaced, and she was very pleased.

We’re focusing on spot cleaning the carpet throughout the house this week.  Fortunately, we have more wood floors than carpet, but the bedrooms are carpeted.  My daughter is actually pretty talented at getting stains out with baking soda and lemon juice, which is very helpful.

I declared 2014 a year of simplicity and have been purging like mad over the last few months.  My teenage son’s room was on my recent “hit list” and, boy, did I have my work cut out for me!  First, I got the back hoe … Okay, maybe not, but was tempted …  I completely filled a kitchen trash bag with garbage and two other kitchen trash bags with donation items for the Salvation Army.  Mind you, it hasn’t been that long since the last purge in his room!  I decided to remove an old bookshelf from his room and put it on Freecyle.  The shelf needs new support pins.  But, more importantly, my son needs fewer items in his room in order to maintain some sense of organization.  The shelf just winds up being a great landing spot for junk, so it’s for the best.  No worries, he has other furniture.  What a transformation!  There actually is carpet in his room!  So, purging is part of our overall home improvement plan as well.

How is it that we wind up with so much stuff?!?!  It honestly perplexes me.  I hold onto way too much little stuff.  Lately as I’ve considered parting with more, I’ve realized that it’s hard getting rid of things that were given to me.  I’m not even referring to family gifts or heirlooms or anything that special … just stuff.  Nonetheless, I’m getting better at releasing items to good homes and have been a weekly contributor to the Salvation Army for the last couple of months.

Here’s to more home improvements in 2014!  What’s on your list?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Home Improvements

Leave a Reply

