Can These Bones Live Again?

The message this evening at church was particularly moving.  The text was Ezekial 37 about his conversation with God regarding the dead, dry bones in the valley.  I actually think it was our pastor’s best message yet.  Much to reflect on as I contemplated the dead, dry places in my own life…you know, the areas where we’ve lost hope that things will ever change.  Did I say that out loud?  Aren’t we to be full of faith at all times?  Yes.  But sometimes life takes the wind out of our sails and we wonder if this boat will venture into deep waters again.  And so I dropped the kids off at home, switched vehicles and took the convertible out for a spin.  The kids had other things to do, so I went alone, which wound up being ideal.  For I spent the next little while traveling over winding, country roads praying and lifting my heart to the Lord.  I became keenly aware that the Lord was stirring my faith to believe once again that all hope is not lost pertaining to a particular prayer request, that I will see the answer in due time.  What a refreshing time of fellowship…just me and God.  The sweet aroma of honeysuckle in bloom paralleled the delightful time of communion I was experiencing with my Heavenly Father.

I even stopped off at an old country cemetery where many of my ancestors rest, including my paternal grandparents.  I walked around for a bit, praying for my family who remain with us.

We had such a powerful time of praise and worship before the message tonight at church.  My heart was refreshed and renewed.  How wonderful it felt to be in the house of the Lord again!  It had been three weeks as we’d been out of town and then recovering from our accident.  We all needed to go and be together with God’s people and ministry!  My husband couldn’t make it to the service we went to, but went to the next service and received communion.  I’m so glad he did.  Communion is always such a special time.  And how we need it, especially now.

We sang this song that was so meaningful:

And, so if you find yourself with unanswered prayers, questions, concerns today, my friend, I encourage you to set your hope and faith on God.  He is the One who can do anything but fail.  When we place our faith in Him, He can do amazing things in and through us.  It isn’t always in our timing, but He’s never late!  We serve an on time God.  What is a day to Him?  What is a year?  Calendars are meaningless when you are the Creator.  He transcends all time and space.  But, none of us escape His watchful eye, my friend.  I challenge you to hope again.  Dare to believe that what God promises in His Word is true and that He will lead you on the path He has for you.  There is more than what we see today.

Faith believes that we are the healed of the Lord.  The eyes of faith see our loved ones return to Jesus.  Faith can move mountains.  If we dare to believe.  Don’t focus on what’s in front of you today.  For tomorrow, it will be behind you.

I just want to encourage you to get in the Word of God as never before, pray and seek His face above all else.  Sometimes when we have issues close to our hearts, we are swift to consult everyone but the One who has the power to change the course of our lives.  Lay the cares of this world at the foot of the Cross and watch Him work in your life.  He loves you so.

“The Lord hears His people when they call to Him for help.  He rescues them from all their troubles.  The Lord is close to the brokenhearted; He rescues those whose spirits are crushed.  The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time.”  ~  Psalm 34:17-19

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Living

Leave a Reply

