Healing Process

rose

Photo Credit: Darling & Talented Daughter

So today was Day I lost count of physical therapy.  I never knew cracking my neck and back could feel so liberating!  My trapezoids have been in the tightest of knots and with a couple movements, the chiropractor set my muscles free!  Well, most of them anyway.  I must admit I came into this therapy process with some apprehension of being worked on by a chiropractor.  But, today changed all of that.  🙂  I had a throbbing headache last night and this morning because of the tense muscles, so hopefully it eases.

As the tech was doing an ultrasound on my elbow, we began to talk.  She’s usually the receptionist and exceptionally pleasant and kind.  I was surprised to see her in the back doing physical therapy until she explained that she’s worked there for many years and has trained quite a few of the staff as well.  She showed me pictures of her four beautiful children, who are stair steps beginning with age nine on down.  It must be my age showing but I could hardly believe she’s a mother of four!  She looks so young!  Bless her heart!  She also shared that she’s in school to become a psychologist and wants to help abused women and children.  She escaped a decade long abusive marriage and wants to offer hope to other women.  Wow.  I was blown away that all of this was inside of this young woman!  She’s beautiful and appears happy.  I guess she is.  I’m sure she feels like she has a new lease on life.  Well, now I know how to further pray for her, along with the other staff.

I was really glad this lady performed the ultrasound as there’s one tech who I think would rather be anywhere but at work.  There’s a third tech who usually works with my kids while I get the unfriendly gal.  She’s not just unfriendly; she has zero facial expression and is almost as if she’s floating around but no one is home emotionally.  I just think that if you’re dealing with people in pain, which is why they’re doing physical therapy, that one should have a compassionate and caring disposition.  Call me old school, I guess.  I told my husband about there being two techs, one is awesome and the other one… well, you’ll see what I mean when you get there.  He came home last night and he told me right away that he knew exactly what I meant.

The chiropractor and physical therapy staff almost feel like family since we’ve been going three days a week for three weeks now.  I love how positive and cheerful the chiropractor’s demeanor is.  It’s almost as if his disposition promotes healing in and of itself.  How dreadful it would be if his attitude was like that tech!  I’m not sure we’d be progressing as well.  There are so many facets to physical healing.  I think faith has a lot to do with it.  Expectation.  Attitude.  Gratitude for even the smallest strides of progress.  Grace – giving yourself copious amounts as you heal, taking things slowly.  Peace in the midst of the storm.  If you have all sorts of inner turmoil, that can’t help your body heal as well, especially tense muscles and ligaments.

I’m so thankful to God for His healing power that is at work within our entire family!  So grateful for His matchless peace and grace.  There’s nothing like it.  Nothing in this world compares to knowing Him, to walking with Him.  We can search out the pleasures of this world, but they all lead to paths of destruction.  The things this world calls exciting and enticing are selfish and unfulfilling pursuits.  Nothing can satisfy like a personal relationship with Jesus Christ.  He loves us so!  We are the objects of His affection, the reason He sent Jesus to die on a cruel Cross, to be a propitiation for our sin, to stand in our place.  Salvation is a gift.  All we have to do is receive it.

There was a lady in the waiting area today that was in severe neck pain due to a recent car accident.  She spoke with a husky, smoker’s voice.  Apparently, she was relaying the details of her accident to one of the staff and my daughter was listening intently as I joined her in the lobby after my therapy.  Once again, we are reminded of God’s grace in sparing us from a more tragic accident.  As much pain as we’ve endured, we often see how much worse it could have been and our hearts are flooded with thankfulness to God!

God is a good God!  That’s all I have to say.  He’s good.  He’s merciful.  He’s the friend who sticks closer than a brother.  “Though weeping endures for a night; joy comes in the morning!” (Psalm 30:5)  His favor lasts a lifetime!

Only God knows why these things happen.  I surely don’t.  My daughter said today that between the accident and a recent workshop put on by an insurance company about teen driving, safety, etc. that she will be a much safer and mindful driver.  I know she will be.  She shared this statistic about teen driving –

“80% of teens involved in fatal accidents were not wearing seat belts.”

Wow!  That’s unbelievable.  So preventable.  She also told me that she recently told some friends they should really put their seat belts on when they got in the car from school.  She said it in a friendly way as to not appear bossy, but was surprised how complacent they were about it initially.  It’s typical for teens to be casual about these things, but the adults in their lives must insist on this basic safety measure!  The fatality statistics involving teens and driving are staggering, and now with the added distractions of smart phones and texting, it’s only increasing sadly.

Saturday marked one year since my darling daughter’s friend, Emily, died in a tragic car accident.  I don’t know the details aside from the fact that she hit a tree and it fell on her car.  I can’t imagine the pain her family has endured these last twelve months.  The blessing is that one day they will be reunited in heaven.

Today on the way home from physical therapy, the driver of a burgundy sedan wanted to become attached to my rear bumper as I drove along a small country road with a speed limit of 35.  My first thought was – “I was just rear ended by a drunk driver.  Can I tell you how uncomfortable your lack of distance feels?”  My second thought was – “We just got the SUV back from the auto body shop yesterday.  Don’t send it back!”  And thirdly – “You’re so young, fella.  Life will teach you to slow down and how fragile life really is.”

Vulnerable is what I feel when I’m driving these days, but also safe at the same time.  You know why?  I’m safe in God’s hands.  Nothing happens in my life or my family’s life (or yours) without His notice.  God is in control, even when I am not.  In that, I will trust and give thanks.

“In everything give thanks for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.”

 ~ I Thessalonians 5:18

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Health Stuff

Leave a Reply

